nav-left cat-right

Climate Journalism Honored at Pulitzers

Climate Journalism Honored at Pulitzers

Environment and climate stories made strong showings in this year’s Pulitzer Prize winners and finalists, which were announced Monday.

Other climate-related stories were also named as finalists across several different categories, including The New York Times’s work on the Trump administration’s war on science;

the Los Angeles Times’s explanatory reporting on how Californians are adapting to sea level rise;

the Wall Street Journal’s series on PG&E’s failures in the lead up to, and aftermath of,

the deadly Camp Fire;

a Minneapolis Star Tribune editorial on a copper mine’s water pollution;

and a feature piece in the Boston Globe on how climate change is threatening Cape Cod.

For a deeper dive:

Links to Pulitzer pieces: Washington PostNew York TimesLos Angeles TimesWall Street JournalStar TribuneBoston Globe

For more climate change and clean energy news, you can follow Climate Nexus on Twitter and Facebook, and sign up for daily Hot News.

An oil pipeline stretches across the landscape outside Prudhoe Bay in North Slope Borough, Alaska on May 25, 2019. This photo was featured prominently in The Washington Post’s Pulitzer prize-winning series 2°C: Beyond the Limit. Bonnie Jo Mount / The Washington Post via Getty Images


Source:  EcoWatch




2020 Pulitzer Prizes

Media Contact:
Megan Mulligan, or 212-854-3841

New York, NY (May 4, 2020) — Columbia University today announces the 2020 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

The Board also announces the election of its two co-chairs: Stephen Engelberg, Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica, and Aminda Marqués Gonzalez, President, Publisher and Executive Editor, Miami Herald. Both Engelberg and Marqués Gonzalez are entering their ninth year as Pulitzer Prize Board members.

For more information on this year’s Prize finalists and winners in Journalism, Books, Drama and Music, please visit to find biographical information and read winning work.

The 2020 Pulitzer Prize winners are:


Public Service
Anchorage Daily News in collaboration with ProPublica

Breaking News Reporting
Staff of The Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky.

Investigative Reporting
Brian M. Rosenthal of The New York Times

Explanatory Reporting
Staff of The Washington Post

Local Reporting  
Staff of The Baltimore Sun

National Reporting
T. Christian Miller, Megan Rose and Robert Faturechi of ProPublica


Dominic Gates, Steve Miletich, Mike Baker and Lewis Kamb of The Seattle Times

International Reporting
Staff of The New York Times

Feature Writing
Ben Taub of The New Yorker

Nikole Hannah-Jones of The New York Times

Christopher Knight of the Los Angeles Times

Editorial Writing
Jeffery Gerritt of the Palestine (Tx.) Herald-Press

Editorial Cartooning
Barry Blitt, contributor, The New Yorker

Breaking News Photography
Photography Staff of Reuters

Feature Photography
Channi Anand, Mukhtar Khan and Dar Yasin of the Associated Press

Audio Reporting
Staff of This American Life with Molly O’Toole of the Los Angeles Times and Emily Green, freelancer, Vice News for “The Out Crowd”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *