Best answer: Which type of climatic conditions are found in North India?

Subtropical humid. Most of Northeast India and much of North India are subject to a humid subtropical climate. Though they experience hot summers, temperatures during the coldest months may fall as low as 0 °C (32 °F). Due to ample monsoon rains, India has only one subtype of this climate under the Köppen system: Cwa.

What are the climatic condition of North India during summer?

Summer season in North India is from April to June followed by monsoon July to September. North Indian plains start heating up around March and its temperature is around 35 degree C by April. By June monsoon rains start and humidity level rises.

Why is tropical climate found in northern India?

Tropical climate is found India due to its location. It is near the equator, thus has tropical climate.

What is the climate of north west India?

In mid-June, the monsoon arrives, bringing rain and slightly cooler temperatures. In Himachal Pradesh, in the Indian Himalaya, the monsoon normally lasts from mid-June to mid-September. … During the winter, high passes can be blocked by snow, and temperatures are icy cold.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: Why is a dead tree still a biotic factor?

What are the 3 main climate types in India?

Some of the most important climatic regions of India are as follows:

  1. Tropical Rain Forest (Am): ADVERTISEMENTS: …
  2. Tropical Savanna (Aw): …
  3. Tropical Semi-Arid Steppe Climate (Bs): …
  4. Tropical and Sub-Tropical steppe Climate (BSn): …
  5. Tropical Desert (BWn): …
  6. Humid Sub-Tropical Climate with Dry Winters (CWa): …
  7. Mountain Climate:

What is the climate like in North East India?

Lying very close to the Tropics, North-East India displays, to a large extent, the character of tropical climate, especially in the valleys. The region has a monsoon climate with heavy to very heavy rains, confined within four summer months from June to September.

What type of climate is found in India?

Most of our India is a sub tropical country and that means very hot summers, humid rainy season and mild winters. In the hilly regions the summers are mild and the winters are cold. The monsoons affect most of India between June and August.

Why Indian climate is called tropical climate?

India is far away from the poles and is in the tropic region and hence, it has a tropical climate, but the major reason India is experiencing a tropical climate is due to the presence of Himalayas.

What bounds the northern part of India?

India is bounded by the Arabian Sea on its west and south west and the Bay of Bengal on its east and south east and the Himalayan Mountain ranges borders the country on its north.

How many climatic regions does India have?

In India, (Bansal & Minke, 1988) had carried out detailed studies and reported that India can be divided into six climatic zones, namely, hot and dry, warm and humid, moderate, cold and cloudy, cold and sunny, and composite. The criteria of classification are described in Table 1.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How can we prevent biodiversity from getting disturbed write three points?

What type of climate does India have and why?

The climate of India is a monsoon type of climate because of its weather conditions which change from season to season. Our country, India would have been a desert without monsoon. Note: A large percentage of the rainfall in India is the result of the monsoon.

What is the climate of India Class 9?

The climate of India is strongly influenced by monsoon winds. Hence, it is said to have a monsoon type of climate. (iii) The north-western part of India comprising the Thar Desert/ Indian Desert experiences the highest diurnal range of temperature. This region is devoid of any vegetation cover and is covered with sand.

What are the four main climatic zones of India?

Criteria for Climatic Classification

Accordingly, the country is divided into four major climatic zones viz., hot-dry, warm-humid, temperate, and cold and one sub-group viz., composite.

What are the 6 climatic zones of India?

The six climates are normally designated as Hot and Dry, Warm and Humid, Moderate, Cold and Sunny, Cold and Cloudy and Composite.