What are 3 different habitats in Argentina?

Identify the major geographical regions and their habitats of Argentina: pampas, Patagonia, Andes, subtropical rainforests, semi-arid plateaus, Cuyo, Northeast, Northwest, deserts.

What habitats are in Argentina?

The Wildlife of Argentina. Argentina is home to a diverse range of wildlife due to its varied terrain and habitats ranging from lush rainforest to marshlands, grasslands, mountains and bleak Patagonian desert.

How many habitats are there in Argentina?

Argentina has 18 eco-regions, which form a complex territory that includes a sub-tropical zone, Antarctic, the tallest mountains in the Americas, and some of the Atlantic Ocean’s greatest depths. It is the habitat of 1,002 bird varieties and hundreds of reptile, mammal, and amphibian species.

What are 3 physical features located in Argentina?

Major Landforms: Andes Mountains, Aconcagua Mountain, Monte Fitz Roy, Las Lagos Region of glacial lakes, numerous volcanoes, Patagonia region of steppes, Glacier National Park and the Patagonia Ice Cap, the Ibera Wetlands, and the lowland agricultural region of the Pampas.

What are the three regions of Argentina?

Argentina’s varied geography can be grouped into four major regions: the Andes, the North, the Pampas, and Patagonia. The Andean region extends some 2,300 miles (3,700 km) along the western edge of the country from Bolivia to southern Patagonia, forming most of the natural boundary with Chile.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Question: What is positive and negative about introducing new species to an ecosystem?

What kind of habitat is South America?

Within a few hundred kilometers, South America’s coastal plains’ dry desert biome rises to the rugged alpine biome of the Andes mountains. One of the continent’s river basins (the Amazon) is defined by dense, tropical rain forest, while the other (Paraná) is made up of vast grasslands.

What habitats are in South America?

Habitats in this ecoregion include tundra grasslands in the northern portion, high latitude Andean meadows in the central portion, deciduous thickets along the southern extremes, and swamp forests on the Falkland Islands. The Patagonian grasslands are located at the bottom tip of South America.

What kind of plants are in Argentina?

Native Plants Of Argentina

Native Plants of Argentina Scientific Name
Red Vein Abutilon Abutilon pictum
Autumn Zephyr Lily Zephyranthes candida
Darwin’s Barberry Berberis darwinii
Yerba Mate Ilex paraguariensis

What animals live in south Argentina?

Southern Argentina is home to the cougar, huemul, pudú (the world’s smallest deer), and introduced, non-native wild boar. The coast of Patagonia is rich in animal life: elephant seals, fur seals, sea lions and species of penguin. The far south is populated by cormorants.

What is Argentina known for?

Argentina is famous for its excellent wine and food, as well as music and dance. Read on and you’ll soon see why Argentina deserves a spot on your South America bucket list.

What are 5 facts about Argentina?

22 Amazing Facts About Argentina

  • Argentina produced the world’s first animated feature film in 1917. …
  • Yerba Mate is the most popular drink in Argentina. …
  • Argentina is home to both the highest and lowest points of the Southern Hemisphere. …
  • The capital of Argentina Buenos Aires translates to the ‘good airs’ or ‘fair winds’
IT IS SURPRISING:  What is a native species in an ecosystem?

How Argentina got its name?

The name is derived from the Latin argentum (silver). The first use of the name Argentina can be traced to the voyages of the Spanish conquerors to the Río de la Plata. The explorers who shipwrecked in Juan Díaz de Solís’ expedition found native communities in the region who gave them silver presents.

What are the major geographical features of Argentina?

Argentina can roughly be divided into four main geographical areas: the spectacular Andes mountain range, the dry North along with the more verdant Mesopotamia, the lush plains of the Pampas and the windswept wastes of Patagonia.

What are Argentina’s 7 regions?

There are seven geographical regions in Argentina: Argentine Northwest; the Chaco Region (Gran Chaco), a hot and semi-arid lowland; the mountain chain of the Sierras Pampeanas; subtropical Mesopotamia (Littoral); Cuyo in central-west; the Pampas, a vast fertile alluvial plain; and Patagonia, the sparsely populated …

How is Argentina divided?

Argentina is divided into 23 provincias (provinces) and a distrito federal (federal district). Province: These divisions are provincias (provinces), except for Ciudad de Buenos Aires (an autonomous city).

What is the most traditional region of Argentina?

Northwest provinces

This is the most traditional region of Argentina, and an area where the size and influence of the indigenous population are still significant.