What are the agro ecological zones in Nigeria?

The country has six distinct agro-ecological zones transiting in south-north direction from the Atlantic coast to the arid savanna of Sahel. These are the Mangrove Swamp, Rainforest, Derived savanna, Guinea savanna, Sudan savanna and Sahel savanna zones.

What are agro-ecological zones?

Agro-ecological zones (AEZs) are geographical areas exhibiting similar climatic conditions that determine their ability to support rainfed agriculture.

How many ecological region do we have in Nigeria?

Nigeria is a western Africa country bordering the Atlantic Ocean. It is comprised of 36 states with the capital in Abuja.

Ecological Regions Of Nigeria.

Ecological Regions of Nigeria Biome
Mandara Plateau mosaic Tropical and Subtropical Grasslands, Savannas, and Shrublands
Niger Delta Nilo-Sudan Freshwater

How many distinct agro-ecological zones are there in Africa?

Each of these five zones is again divided into three zones depending upon elevation: lowland, mid- elevation, and high elevation. The remaining AEZ is desert.

How many agro-ecological zones are there?

The National Bureau of Soil Survey & Land Use Planning (NBSS&LUP) came up with twenty agro-ecological zones based on the growing period as an integrated criteria of effective rainfall, soil groups, delineated boundaries adjusted to district boundaries with a minimal number of regions.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How do you manage environmental compliance?

How many agro-climatic zones are there?

The Planning Commission has categorised 15 agro-climatic zones in India, taking into account the physical attributes and socio-economic conditions prevailing in the regions.

What are the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and their states?

The six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states that make up each of the geopolitical zones.

  • North Central: Benue. Kogi. Kwara. …
  • North East: Adamawa. Bauchi. Borno. …
  • North West: Jigawa. Kaduna. Kano. …
  • South East: Abia. Anambra. Ebonyi. …
  • South South (also known as Niger Delta region) Akwa Ibom. Bayelsa. …
  • South West: Ekiti. Lagos.

How many vegetation zones are in Nigeria?

Nigeria is covered by three types of vegetation: forests (where there is significant tree cover), savannahs (insignificant tree cover, with grasses and flowers located between trees), and montane land (least common and mainly found in the mountains near the Cameroon border.

Where is Guinea Savanna located in Nigeria?

Northern Guinea Savanna: In Nigeria, Northern Guinea Savanna is found in parts of Kaduna, Kwara, Benue and Kogi states.

Why agro-ecological zones are important?

Soils form the second element in defining and differentiating agroecological zones as soil conditions determine important properties for plant growth, moisture supply, root aeration and nutrient supply. … The third factor is land level in relation to flooding.

What are the three ecological zones in Zambia?

Zambia is divided into three major agro-ecological regions (Regions I , II and III), which are primarily based on rainfall amount but also incorporate soils and other climatic characteristics.

How many agro-ecological zones are in Uganda?

… Uganda is divided into ten agroecological zones: Southern highlands, Southern dry lands, Lake Victoria crescent, Eastern, Mid-Northern, Lake Albert crescent, West Nile, Western highlands, South East, and Karamoja drylands [92] .

IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: What are some environmental issues in Latin America today?

What are agro climatic zones describe any 4 major agro climatic zones?

Central plateau and hill region. Western plateau and hill region. Southern plateau and hill region. East coast plain and hill region.