Frequent question: What do you mean by environmental clearance?

Environmental Clearance is the procedure to get clearance from the government for the installation and modification (amendment) of certain projects. It is mandatory for projects which can cause high environmental Pollution.

What is the purpose of environmental clearance?

The environmental clearance process is required for 39 types of projects and covers aspects like screening, scoping and evaluation of the upcoming project. The main purpose is to assess impact of the planned project on the environment and people and to try to abate/minimise the same.

What is the process of environmental clearance?

The environmental clearance process comprises of four stages, namely, Stage (1) Screening; Stage (2) Scoping; Stage (3) Public Consultation and Stage (4) Appraisal.

Who gives environmental clearance in India?

A nod from the expert panels – the National Board for Wildlife (NBWL), the Forest Advisory Committee (FAC) and 10 Expert Appraisal Committees (EAC) – is necessary for projects to get green clearances from the central government’s Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC).

IT IS SURPRISING:  You asked: How does biodiversity prevent disease?

Who needs environmental clearance certificate?

The Environmental Clearance Certificate is mandatory requirement for the project activities included in the Schedule of EIA notification dated 14th September 2006 { under Environment (Protection ) Act 1986} , before initiating any project related activities on the site .

What is an environmental clearance certificate?

BRIEF DESCRIPTION An Environmental Clearance is a pre-requisite document for existing and new projects to acquire business permit, development permit or building permit. This is to ensure that environmental considerations are incorporated at the earliest possible stage of development.

What projects require environmental clearance?


  • Mining of Minerals.
  • Offshore and Onshore oil and gas exploration, development & production.
  • River Valley Projects.
  • Thermal Power Plants.
  • Nuclear Power Projects and Processing of Nuclear Fuel.

What is Category A and B in environmental clearance?

Category A projects require mandatory environmental clearance and thus they do not undergo the screening process. Category B projects undergoes screening process and they are classified into two types. Category B1 projects (Mandatorily requires EIA). Category B2 projects (Do not require EIA).

How do I get environmental clearance for mining?

Site clearance will be given for site specific projects as mentioned in para-2(ii) of the notification. Application for obtaining site clearance from MOEF has to be submitted along with 2 copies of EIA/EMP report through the concerned State Department.

What is prior environmental clearance?

The prior environmental clearance in terms of 2006 notification issued under Section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 Act read with Rule 5 of the Environment (Protection) Rules, 1986, is required to be taken before commencement of the “actual construction or building work” of the national highway by the …

IT IS SURPRISING:  What is said to have sparked the environmental protection movement in the United States?

Is environmental clearance required for 1st phase of construction?

No environment clearance needed for construction on 20,000-50,000 sq metre area: Environment Ministry’s notification. The centre’s draft environment impact assessment (EIA) notification lays down rules and process for granting permissions for proposed developments and industrial projects.

What are the 5 major environmental problems?

Some of the key issues are:

  • Pollution. …
  • Global warming. …
  • Overpopulation. …
  • Waste disposal. …
  • Ocean acidification. …
  • Loss of biodiversity. …
  • Deforestation. …
  • Ozone layer depletion.

What is the validity of environmental clearance certificate?

The period of extension shall depend on all submitted documents but in no case shall exceed a period of five (5) years. Finally, no further extension shall be approved beyond the accumulating to five (5) year and the proponent shall be required to apply for a new ECC.

What is the first step in EIA?

Screening is the first stage of the EIA process which results in a key EIA decision, namely to either conduct the assessment (based on the likely significant impacts) or not conduct it (in the anticipated absence of such impacts).